Martin Fishley a.k.a Martin Melody started his singing career as a youth in his home city of Gloucester in the U.K. He started singing on Reggae sounds systems at a young age, and it did not take long for Martin to be snapped up by various artists and producers who wanted to collaborate. It was at this point that Martin and others realised he had a talent for songwriting as well as singing. Martins first song was Jump Up which was released on Solar Dub records in 1995.

Despite having his roots in Reggae, Martin has always enjoyed music of all genres and his influences and his own work reflect this. Influences include: Bob Marley, Gerry Rafferty, Queen, Gregory Isaacs, 10CC, Sting, Burning Spear, Nina Simone, Nat King Cole, and Muddy Waters.

Pressure Drop

In 1996 Martin joined the group Pressure Drop. The album Elusive was released in 1997 and their single Silently Bad Minded did well in the U.K charts, with remixes by Roni Size and Stereo MCs, and the group subsequently toured all over the world, as well as collaborating with artists such as Skibadee.

Martin recalls these days as some of the best in his musical career (so far!), as performing his songs live is one of his greatest passions.

Black Canvas

In 2005 Martin and a few other members of Pressure Drop, formed the group Black Canvas. Their album Rise was released in 2009, including breakbeat influenced tracks such as We Fear Not. Drum & Bass duo Chase & Status remixed the Black Canvas song Broken Dreams in 2010 which topped the Drum & Bass charts.

Black Canvas as it was then, dissolved in 2012, but years later Black Canvas was re-formed with several new members in the group and a brand new sound.

To this day Black Canvas continue to explore different genres and styles of music, with Martin and his songs still at the heart of the group, giving the listeners a positive, uplifting and memorable musical experience.

Solo work and Collaborations

Martin continues to record solo work, and likes to create and take part in eclectic collaborations, with artist such as Adam Freeland, Cut La Vis, David Judah, Chris Jay from Dubwise, and Iration Steppas. He also likes to perform live as much as possible, recently supporting Lee Perry with Yaksha sounds.


  • If you Love Me - Single 2019
  • Solar Dub - Love Thing 2019
  • Good Over Evil EP 2019
  • Yaksha Sounds - Teach Them Right - 2019
  • Aint No Doubt - Single 2018
  • You Don't Need to Worry - Single 2014
  • Cut La Vis - Little Way Diferent ft. Martin Melody 2013
  • I Wanna Be Your Lover 2012
  • Essential Drum & Bass Anthems - Broken Dreams (Chase n Status Remix) 2009
  • Black Canvas - Album 2009 - We Rise
  • Essential Drum & Bass Anthems - Broken Dreams (Chase n Status Remix) 2009
  • Pressure Drop - Sunny Days / Knok Knok 2005
  • Alien Ent. (Ft.Martin Fishley) 2005 Get Crazy
  • Adam Freeland (Ft.Martin Fishley) Album - Now and Them 2003
  • Pressure Drop (Ft.Martin Fishley) 2001 Album - Tread
  • Pressure Drop (Ft.Martin Fishley) Album - Elusive 1998
  • Solar Dub - Jump Up 1995

Photo Gallery

A photo gallery of Martin Melody.

  • Martin Melody
  • Martin Melody 2
  • Martin Melody 3
  • Martin Melody 4
  • Martin Melody 5
  • Martin Melody 6


  1. Watch this space for gigs in 2021!

Technical Rider

Here are some requirements if you would like to book Martin to perform.


If you are inviting Martin to sing as a guest or sound system collaboration he will need one microphone (SM58), one PA monitor and a sound engineer.


If you are booking Martin to play as a duo with his regular DJ they will need One Mic (SM58) and 2 PA Monitors and a feed for DJ decks / laptop and a sound engineer.